Common Ground Nebraska Executive Committee

Chairperson:  Nathan Stewart, Black Hills Energy

Treasurer/Secretary:  Jill Geyer, Nebraska811

Membership/Program Director:  Dan Maschka, Northern Natural Gas


The Common Ground of Nebraska (CGN) is a 'regionally organized' version of its parent, the national Common Ground Alliance, or CGA. It is a member-driven association dedicated to ensuring public safety, environmental protection, and the integrity of services by promoting effective damage prevention practices in the great state of Nebraska. The association has established itself as the leading organization in an effort to reduce damages to all underground facilities in Nebraska through shared responsibility among all stakeholders. In promoting a spirit of shared responsibility, the CGN welcomes all stakeholders who would like to be a part of the identification and promotion of best practices that lead to a reduction in damage. Any "best practices" endorsed by the CGN come with consensus support from experts in the following stakeholder groups: Excavators, Locators, Road Builders, Electric, Telecommunications, Oil, Gas, Railroad, Water, One Call, Public Works, Equipment Manufacturing, State Regulators, Insurance, Pipeline Operators, Emergency Services and Engineering/Design. Since inception, the CGA has grown to over 1,300 individual members, 165 member organizations, and 40 sponsors.